Bloods and Crips

Urban dictionary defines them as:

People who lack the mental power to read. Having this mental disability causes them to lash out at other people with the same disability. They have to wear colors to recognize who is on their side because they cannot tell friends from enemies. They pretend to be tough but are such big pussies they will not go anywhere without a large number of people wearing the same colors.

HAHA on all seriousness, I never knew about gangs until yesterday.

I’m very sheltered compared to my boyfriend. I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago all my life. I never went anywhere else but school, hakwon, library, church, and the mall. Very typical Korean student. My boyfriend, on the other hand, was a bad boy getting into fights all the time in Virginia. He knows a lot of people who are part of gangs, but he never joined one himself. For me, gangs were something I read about in books.

After playing basketball at 12:30am, we went to a random gas station in downtown Syracuse. He almost got robbed and shot yesterday when some Bloods came up to him after he pulled out his Burberry wallet. They exchanged profane insults, then we drove off like crazy. I was so clueless as to what was going on. He told me all about the Bloods and Crips and their teardrop tattoos and their colored-bandanna fashion. Apparently in Virginia, no Blood member can touch him since he is a fighter himself, but Syracuse is a different story.

Now I’m scared after this encounter with a gang O_O

Leave a Reply

