Last Day of the Year

It’s New Years Eve today. It really hasn’t hit me yet that it is the last day of year 2010, and once this day is over, it will never return.

I’m trying to recall 2010. I don’t know really know what can sum up this year, but definitely a lot has happened. I need to pray about what has happened this year to really know how much I have changed, grown, and fallen. I’m not really in the mood to write about it.

I’m hoping for a greater 2011. I don’t really make New Years resolutions–probably because I’m lazy. I don’t make specific enough goals. I have the usual (like many other people): get better grades, lose weight, go to the gym, etc. However, with such unspecific goals, none of those resolutions actually happen. I also need a lot of motivation from others.

I’ve been pretty anti-social this winter break. For some reason, I’m not going out as much and spend a lot of time alone and sleeping. Being an introvert, it doesn’t really bother me. However, it’s strange how I need motivation, encouragement, and compliments from others or else I just rot away in my own thoughts. Ultimately I need people and I like people, but I enjoy being by myself too.

For year 2011, I want to be solid with God. It’s really hard to find respectable Christians these days. I really aspire to become one of them–not a wannabe or a hypocrite. It’s definitely hard without having a role model to look up to every single day.

Having a solid relationship with God is my one goal for the upcoming year. Another goal: I will not skip any classes by making excuses that I feel too tired or that I need to sleep at the moment in order to pull an all-nighter later. I have skipped probably a semester’s worth of classes since freshman year until now. I have to be diligent. I will make more goals as the year progresses.

One thought on “Last Day of the Year

  1. I’m encouraged by your wrestles with the faith. It’s a good sign that you feel the discontent in your heart for that shows that the Spirit is there longing to be more active. From your perspective it might be hard to know if you’ve grown but if you asked me I think you have. However, there’s always room for more growth just as you said.

    Proverbs 16:3 Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.

    It’s a process learning to trust God more and more with everything. However, if you do it says He will establish your plans, a path, meaning, and purpose.

    Take it a day at a time and know that He’s always there with you. That I’m sure of.

Leave a Reply

