Teen Pregnancy

Today I was volunteering at the hospital. I mostly take care of patient discharges and lab deliveries. It’s not the most exciting thing, but it’s a start. I love it whenever I go to the NICU or maternity ward because I absolutely love babies. Today I got a call to discharge a mother and child. awww I get to see a newborn baby. From prior experience, I expect to see a plump mother, cute little baby, and a disorganized dad. To my surprise, when I went to the room today, I saw two teenage girls.

Everyone at the hospital mistakes me for a little highschooler because I look really young and I’m small, and yet I’m halfway done with college. Even though I look young, I knew those girls were younger than me. They were shocked to hear that I did these services for free. Well, duh, I’m a volunteer.

It must have been a strange sight: a little girl who looks like a highschooler (me) pushing another young girl in a wheelchair, as her young friend carries the baby like it’s a toy. They had no other guardians. I would have been really protective of my newborn child, but they did not seem to have much of a maternally protective instinct towards the baby. I, on the other hand, was worrying for them and the baby. They just put the baby in the car and drove away..

Teen pregnancies are very common. I guess today was the first time I really came into direct contact with teen pregnancy, so I was somewhat shocked. I knew of a girl who was pregnant during my freshman year in high school, but I never saw her again. I also knew of another girl who was pregnant on SU campus during my freshman year, and once again never saw her again. I live in a bubble, so I don’t get to see much of the real world.

Teen pregnancy barbie… Having a baby is cool! You can buy cute little clothes and trendy diaper bags. Who cares that I don’t have the resources to support my baby. I will get my baby’s daddy to pay for child support.

This is the world we are living in. What happened?

2 thoughts on “Teen Pregnancy

  1. chiick ii have 3 kiids and iam 20 yrs old! totally do not appriciate your comments! created and raised with my 6yrs of marriage! dnt think of yourself like the big thing! i still managed to graduate at 16yrs old and go to college! screw you!

Leave a Reply

