Day 4

Today was the first day of classes. We studied Bio Statistics. The TA who taught us is currently pursuing her masters in health science at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Since this is her field, she decided to teach us Bio Statistics and Epidemiology for 6 days. However, she didn’t seem to know the material. In the end, the class taught her how to find standard deviation.

We were in lecture for 2 hours. Then, she made us make oragami frogs.

It was so random, but I’m assuming that she is going to make us conduct our own experiment of how far our frogs can jump depending on which type of paper they are made out of and their size. With this we can gather data and do all the statistics stuff.

Then we went to lunch. Today I ate with a group of really funny people. This one guy is so weird, but he’s so funny. I think it’s because of the way he talks, his tone, and his gestures. Afterward, we had a lecture on the medical school library and how useful it is and that we should take advantage of it for our group research paper/project. My group’s topic is HIV/AIDS. Then, we had a presentation on disparity of the health field. We watched a documentary that points out all the disparities in health care and how there should be social reform. We then split up into our groups and discussed different issues with our individual TAs. It was an interesting discussion.

I got back to my dorm at about 5:00PM. I am at the medical school building from 7:30AM-4:30PM. Wow 9 hours everyday.

We then had dinner…. I AM SO FAT :( and then we had a “fireside chat” without the fire. A female minority doctor came to talk to us to about her experience of overcoming her struggles and finally became a successful doctor. This program gives positive encouragement that we can all become successful doctors and dentists one day, but I don’t if I ever will..

Today we got our first paychecks yay!

Tomorrow I am having an interview/getting to know better one of the head doctors. He’s the principal of this summer medical program, the vice chancellor of academic affairs, the dean for graduate studies, and the doctor/professor of internal medicine. He sure has high status… It’s intimidating. I should prepare a little something…

I have homework already, but it’s 10:00PM already?! FYI, I sleep early now. I try to go to sleep by 11:30PM latest since I have to wake up at 5:30AM and sitting in a lecture hall all day is draining. Plus, I’m not allowed to fall asleep in class, but I dozed off today again! I hope my TA didn’t notice… but he was sitting right next to me when we were watching the documentary..

Leave a Reply

