Death of Former South Korean President

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/05/23/world/asia/23korea.html

Former South Korean President, Roh Moo Hyun (노무현), committed suicide early Saturday morning.

It’s quite shocking. A lot of people are sad and are sympathetic toward his family.

Initially, I was too. However, the more I think about this situation, the angrier I get. I think the former president made an idiotic decision to commit suicide. I admit that he has gone through a lot of stress because of his recent scandal of corruption. I don’t really know too much about that so I won’t go into it, but was it necessary to kill himself because of it? He is a public figure. He is more well known than Korean celebrities, who as well have been on suicide rages. There were probably people out there who looked up to Mr. Roh as a role model and a hero. Thinking from their position, I would feel a huge disappointment. I feel as if now Koreans believe that suicide is the right way to go. If you can’t handle life and if you feel like you’re a burden to others, then just kill yourself. It’s for the best and it’s fate. I get angry because suicide is the ultimate sin, the time when you are most selfish, and it would be too late to ask for forgiveness because you would be burning in God’s wrath forever. If I were Roh Moo Hyun, I would’ve been a man and taken responsibilities of my wrong doings and be honest with the public, even if they were to throw rocks at me (or more like black mail and have nasty anti-fan comments posted all over the internet).

Ehhh I think I’m getting carried away. I don’t know if I should really post my opinions since some people might even bash at me, but it is my blog afterall…

RIP

(for the sake of it)

Leave a Reply

