My Second Favorite Movie

is… 키다리 아저씨 (Daddy Long Legs)

Just in case you wondering, my #1 favorite Korean movie is 클래식 (Classic)

I watched this movie for the first time yesterday and I absolutely love it. I’m still emotionally attached to the storyline. I didn’t know anything about the movie prior to watching it besides that the main character, Youngmi, has a nameless benefactor who she calls “키다리 아저씨 (Daddy long legs).” I think it’s better not to know anything before watching it, so don’t wikipedia it. It will just ruin the movie because it contains so many spoilers.

하지원 (HaJiwon) is really cute in the movie. I wasn’t a huge fan of her before, but she pulled off the cute, extremely innocent character really well. 연정훈 (YeonJunghoon) is so cute as well. Ahhh his smile… anyways.

The site where I watched this movie categorized it as “comedy, romance,” so I thought I would be watching a romantic comedy. Not so much the case. The love story is sooo cute that it’s almost cheesy. It makes me want to the girl character and have a boyfriend like Yeonjunghoon’s character. The movie was cute until it reached the climax, then it got super sad. At the end of the movie, I was pretty much depressed. The ending was not supposed to be depressing. In fact, I think the director/script writer wanted the viewers to have a happy heart, but I’m depressed about it.

I really recommend this movie. It’s very confusing though, but if you figure it out, it all makes sense. I really want to buy this movie on dvd. It’s an old movie, however. It was released in January of 2005. I tried looking online to buy this, but it’s out of print. I will somehow buy the movie though and update you.

Seriously though, I’m still depressed about the ending, yet I love the cute innocent love story. I could watch it over and over.

What I hate about these Korean dramas and movies is that they really give you false expectations about love. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

